Skip navigation

100k minimums-what the heck?

or Register to post new content in the forum

32 RepliesJump to last post

Comments

• Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

• No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Jun 23, 2007 10:48 am

I am re-introducing myself so that I can qualify my question.

I am a midwest, Fixed Income Trader. I have about 9 years experience in financial services field, mostly doing the selling TO licensed reps. I am looking to transition into a career for an FA.

I am noticing this big push in the industry to only take clients with a minimum of 100k. It does seem to be a wirehouse or firm who does HNW qualifier. So, please tell me, how does one find this type of investor? Do you cold call? Does the reputation of your firm connect you with this type of person? What is it?

I am just curious because this would seem to be difficult for a newbie to obtain initially. Also, I notice only about 15-20% of the reps that I work with have accounts in the six digit worth, and I do a more HNW product.

So, what's everyone's thoughts?

Jun 23, 2007 1:51 pm

The money is out there, you just need to find the right channel to find them.  Cold calling is one ineffective method, but it's free so most newbie do that.  You can place ads in publications that rich people read, you can join clubs with members who are rich people; but that takes a little investment.

Will the firm help an FA?  That depends on the firm I guess.  But there is no free lunch; that much I know.

$100K is not that high a requirement in the FA business.  Below it, diversification begins to get difficult and perhaps expensive too.