Skip navigation

403B Marketing to Schools/Universities

or Register to post new content in the forum

14 RepliesJump to last post

Comments

• Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

• No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Jun 7, 2005 9:31 pm

I wanted to get everyone’s experience in marketing 403B accounts to scholl and university employees. I have about 4 years of experience doing just that back east, and was wondering what worked/failed for you all… In my opinion its a nice market to go after- with EGTTRA allowing for pension portability, increased deferral limits, the lack of solid investment professionals running around in there, etc, etc. It would be interesting if any of you devote a portion of your time targeting those areas. Again, my experience is that primarily insurance pro’s are the ones who have had the monopoly on this market for decades, so a full service broker could potentially have a field day with a few solid clients and the referral possibilities… Any input would be welcomed…

Jun 7, 2005 9:46 pm

Talk to Citistreet or TIAA-CREF.  Ask them how they do it.

Jun 7, 2005 10:11 pm

I worked for AXA and we used to run into those characters every day. Personally, I used to transfer a nice chunk out of TIAA Cref every year at this one community college. I know the players ( those two plus ING, VALIC, etc), but wanted to start a topic on sharing good marketing ideas, good/bad experiences etc. etc… This may not be the place to post this only because my experience has been that the indy’s and wire’s barely pay attention to this market… Wanted to see what works in other parts of the country…

Jun 10, 2005 3:30 am

[quote=blarmston]This may not be the place to post this only because my experience has been that the indy's and wire's barely pay attention to this market... [/quote]