Skip navigation

Edward Jones vs Northwestern (2018 choice)

or Register to post new content in the forum

Comments

• Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

• No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Sep 14, 2018 1:56 pm

Hello,

I'm in the final stages of both companies and would like some input with the selection.

My background is in business development and corporate finance. Technically, corporate finance is night and day different than personal finance, however from the relationship side of the house, in order to excel you need to be able to build a great relationship and present with internet, and external clients. I'm deciding to go the personal finance route as it seems like I'll be able to build a more meaningful career vs only a career focused on 10k's, shareholder and owner wealth accumulation, etc.

I'm not scared to prospect & sell, I've done both in various ways throughout my career.

I will be able to cover my living expenses no matter which direction I go, EJ or NWM, it will be tight, but I'll be able to make it.

All that being said, there are a few things that I'm looking for:

1) Income potential

My Yr 1 goal is $80k . . .

EJ - it seems that since they give you a salary starting off, you're paying for it in commissions, totally makes sense. I've read that people start with EJ, then leave after 3 years to go Indy. Is it possible, with the right amount of building, to make a health six figure income with EJ ?

NWM - zero salary to start, but very strong commission. It seems that with NWM, with the stronger commissions I'll be able to earn more. However, I'm also aware a bit of costs will eat up those commissions.

2) Brand Awareness