Skip navigation

Tips From the Pros: The Uniform Voidable Transactions Act—Continue to Be Aware!

Al W. King III discusses some important changes to the UVTA and whether it has gone too far with some of its language and comments, particularly regarding domestic asset protection trusts.

Since 2014, 21 states1 have adopted the Uniform Voidable Transaction Act (UVTA), formerly the Uniform Fraudulent Transfer Act.3 It’s also important to note that five of these states are domestic asset protection trust (DAPT) states (Indiana, Michigan, Rhode Island, Utah and West Virginia). Additionally, several states have introduced UVTA legislation (Massachusetts, New Jersey, South Carolina and Wisconsin).4 The UVTA has


Please Log in if you are currently a Trust&Estates subscriber, or select DAYPASS for our new 24 hour access (nominal fee required).

If you are interested in unlimited article access for one year, please select Annual Subscription below.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.