Viewpoints

America’s Top 100 RIAs

Firm City Website AUM (mil) 5/31/08 2006 AUM (mil) Difference (mil) Percent Change Total Accounts Investment Number of Advisors Number of Clients
1. Veritable LP Newtown Square, Pa. www.veritablelp.com $9,410 $7,284 $2,126 29% 1,906 11-50 more than 500
2. Silvercrest Asset Management New York www.silvercrestgroup.com $8,688 $5,471 $3,217 59% 2,313 11-50 more Group than 500
3. Moneta Group Investment Advisors Clayton, Mo. www.monetagroup.com $7,932 $4,921 $3,011 61% 17,333 11-50 more than 500
4. Oxford Financial Group Carmel, Ind. www.ofgltd.com $7,837 $7,567 $270 4% 3,403 11-50 more than 500
5. Rockefeller & Company New York www.rockco.com $7,681 $5,740 $1,941 34% 1,764 11-50 251-500
6. Geller Family Office Services New York www.gellerco.com $6,611 $888 $5,723 644% 357 6-10 26-100
7. Convergent Wealth Advisors Rockville, Md. www.convergentwealth.com $6,219 N/A N/A N/A 5,006 51-250 more than 500
8. Ronald Blue & Company Atlanta www.ronblue.com $5,420 $3,913 $1,507 39% 10,017 51-250 more than 500
9. Plante Moran Financial Advisors Southfield, Mich. www.pmfa.com $5,365 $4,000 $1,365 34% 1,332 11-50 more than 500
10. Sontag Advisory New York www.sontagadvisory.com $5,284 $3,448 $1,836 53% 7,866 6-10 more than 500
11. Loring, Wolcott & Coolidge Boston www.lwcotrust.com $5,279 $4,734 $545 12% 2,589 11-50 more than 500
12. Aspiriant San Francisco www.quintile.com $5,074 $1,431 $3,643 255% 2,493 11-50 251-500
13. Offit Capital New York www.offitcapital.com $5,065 N/A N/A N/A 50 11-50 26-100
14. Federal Street Advisors Boston www.federalstreet.com $4,950 $4,091 $859 21% 1,617 11-50 26-100
15. SCS Capital Management Boston www.scsfinancial.com $4,701 $3,536 $1,165 33% 82 11-50 26-100
16. MyCIO Wealth Partners Philadelphia www.myciowp.com $4,511 $2,046 $2,465 120% 2,367 11-50 251-500
17. MBO Cleary Advisors Milwaukee www.mbocleary.com $4,478 $3,012 $1,466 49% 83 6-10 26-100
18. Beacon Pointe Advisors Newport Beach, Calif. www.bpadvisor.com $4,181 $4,118 $63 2% 286 11-50 251-500
19. Fiduciary Counselling St. Paul http://www.fidcouns.net/ $4,174 $3,451 $723 21% 1,093 11-50 more than 500
20. Wainwright Investment Counsel Boston www.winvcounsel.com $4,024 $3,780 $244 6% 148 11-50 101-250
21. Welch & Forbes Boston www.welchforbes.com $3,870 $4,007 -$137 -3% 2,274 11-50 more than 500
22. KLS Professional Advisors Group New York www.klsadvisors.com $3,862 $2,917 $945 32% 5,589 6-10 more than 500
23. Presidio Wealth Management San Francisco www.presidiofp.com $3,813 $444 $3,369 759% 142 11-50 101-250
24. Baker Street Advisors San Francisco www.bakerstreetadvisors.com $3,758 $2,041 $1,717 84% 938 6-10 26-100
25. Greycourt & Company Pittsburgh www.greycourt.com $3,731 $2,926 $805 28% 63 11-50 26-100
26. Edelman Financial Services Fairfax, Va. www.edelmanfinancial.com $3,700 $372 $3,328 895% 28,431 11-50 more than 500
27. Bel Air Investment Advisors Los Angeles www.belair-llc.com $3,685 $3,212 $473 15% 2,327 11-50 251-500
28. Calibre Advisory Services Waltham, Mass. www.calibre.com $3,628 $2,671 $957 36% 2,438 11-50 101-250
29. Mercer Advisors Scottsdale www.merceradvisors.com $3,524 $2,775 $749 27% 15,858 51-250 more than 500
30. BC Advisors Mt. Laurel, N.J. www.theberingergroup.com $3,441 N/A N/A N/A 111 26-100 6-10
31. Avalon Advisors Houston www.avalonadvisors.com $3,280 $2,186 $1,094 50% 1,263 11-50 101-250
32. Shepherd Kaplan Boston www.sk-llc.com $3,237 $1,038 $2,199 212% 876 6-10 101-250
33. RSM Mcgladrey Minneapolis www.rsmmcgladrey.com $3,228 $2,243 $985 44% 7,416 51-250 more than 500
34. Clarfeld Financial Advisors Tarrytown, N.Y. www.clarfeld.com $3,110 $2,225 $885 40% 2,170 11-50 251-500
35. The Quantitative Group San Antonio www.quantgroup.com $2,993 $3,745 -$752 -20% 117 6-10 101-250
36. Choate Investment Advisors Boston www.choate.com $2,915 $2,369 $546 23% 1,745 6-10 251-500
37. Strategic Capital Allocation Boston www.scagrp.com $2,836 $2,419 $417 17% 10 6-10 1-10
38. Gresham Partners Chicago www.greshampartners.com $2,780 $1,980 $800 40% 3,549 11-50 26-100
39. Altair Advisers, Llc Chicago www.altairadvisers.com $2,780 $2,058 $722 35% 186 11-50 101-250
40. GW & Wade Wellesley, Mass. www.gwwade.com $2,729 $1,663 $1,066 64% 5,382 11-50 more than 500
41. Athena Capital Advisors Lincoln, Mass. www.athenacapital.com $2,710 $2,277 $433 19% 126 11-50 26-100
42. Wetherby Asset Management San Francisco www.wetherby.com $2,685 $1,460 $1,225 84% 2,911 11-50 more than 500
43. Stolper & Company San Diego www.stolperco.com $2,547 $2,347 $200 9% 347 1-5 251-500
44. Ballamor Capital Radnor, Pa. www.ballamorcapital.com $2,544 $1,843 $701 38% 105 6-10 101-250
45. Inverness Counsel Inc New York www.invernesscounsel.com $2,514 $2,395 $119 5% 1,202 11-50 more than 500
46. R. M. Davis Portland www.rmdavis.com $2,334 $1,636 $698 43% 2,985 11-50 more than 500
47. Schultz Collins Lawson Chambers San Francisco www.schultzcollins.com $2,225 $1,463 $762 52% 197 6-10 101-250
48. Hewins Financial Advisors Foster City, Calif. www.hewinsfinancial.com $2,224 $1,308 $916 70% 2,999 6-10 101-250
49. Tolleson Private Wealth Management Dallas www.tollesonwealth.com $2,221 $1,591 $630 40% 1,577 11-50 26-100
50. Cornerstone Advisors Bethlehem, Pa. www.cornerstone-companies.com $2,169 $1,174 $995 85% 517 11-50 101-250
51. First American Trust Santa Ana, Calif. www.firstamtrust.com $2,161 $1,563 $598 38% 1,628 11-50 more than 500
52. Advanced Capital Group Minneapolis www.acgbiz.com $2,131 $884 $1,247 141% 115 1-5 26-100
53. Kibble & Prentice Seattle www.kpcom.com $2,127 $1,411 $716 51% 479 11-50 251-500
54. Bingham, Osborn & Scarborough San Francisco www.bosinvest.com $2,100 $1,450 $650 45% 2,921 11-50 more than 500
55. Robert Harrell Incorporated Austin www.harrell.com $2,079 $2,218 -$139 -6% 35 1-5 26-100
56. Clifford Swan Investment Counsel Pasadena, Texas www.cliffordswan.com $2,076 $908 $1,168 129% 2,327 11-50 more than 500
57. Cornerstone Advisors Bellevue, Wash. www.buildbeyond.com $2,006 $1,651 $355 22% 1,670 11-50 251-500
58. Homrich & Berg Inc Atlanta www.homrich-berg.com $1,984 $1,307 $677 52% 2,474 11-50 251-500
59. Ballentine Finn & Company Wolfeboro, N.H. www.ballentine-finn.com $1,955 $694 $1,261 182% 1,220 11-50 101-250
60. Prairie Capital Kansas City, Mo. www.prairiecapital.com $1,934 $1,052 $882 84% 1,063 6-10 101-250
61. Linscomb & Williams Houston www.linscomb-williams.com $1,925 $1,388 $537 39% 1,585 11-50 more than 500
62. Freestone Capital Seattle www.freestonecapital.com $1,909 $1,693 $216 13% 814 6-10 more than 500
63. Reinhart Partners Mequon, Wis. www.reinhart-partnersinc $1,908 $1,419 $489 34% 1,000 11-50 more than 500
64. Seaward Management Boston www.seawardmgmt.com.com $1,885 $2,139 -$254 -12% 886 6-10 251-500
65. Atherton Lane Advisers Menlo Park athertonlane.com $1,840 $1,046 $794 76% 489 11-50 251-500
66. RegentAtlantic Capital Chatham www.regentatlantic.com $1,839 $1,169 $670 57% 1,042 11-50 more than 500
67. Laird Norton Tyee Asset Strategies Seattle www.lntyee.com $1,832 $1,294 $538 42% 1,295 11-50 251-500
68. Evanson Asset Management Carmel, Calif. www.evansonasset.com $1,786 $932 $854 92% 2,235 1-5 251-500
69. Guggenheim Investment Advisors New York www.guggenheimpartners.com $1,763 $1,018 $745 73% 279 11-50 101-250
70. Dimeo Schneider & Associates Chicago www.dimeoschneider.com $1,738 $0 $1,738 0% 1,137 11-50 251-500
71. Carret Asset Management New York www.carret.com $1,687 $992 $695 70% 890 11-50 more than 500
72. Mason Investment Advisory Services Reston, Va. www.masoncompanies.com $1,643 $1,303 $340 26% 463 11-50 more than 500
73. Joel Isaacson & Company New York www.joelisaacson.com $1,628 $1,008 $620 62% 2,670 11-50 more than 500
74. The MDE Group Morristown, Pa. www.mdegroup.com $1,585 $1,307 $278 21% 186 6-10 101-250
75. Legend Advisory Palm Beach Gardens, Fla. www.legendgroup.com $1,579 $1,151 $428 37% 22,804 6-10 more than 500
76. Paul Comstock Partners Houston www.paulcomstockpartners.com $1,564 $1,373 $191 14% 123 6-10 101-250
77. Manchester Capital Manchester, Va. www.mcmllc.com $1,550 $968 $582 60% 647 6-10 101-250
78. Signature Financial Norfolk, Va. www.sigfin.com $1,544 $766 $778 102% 1,192 6-10 101-250
79. Savant Capital Management Rockford, Ill. www.zeroalphagroup.com $1,515 $909 $606 67% 1,767 11-50 more than 500
80. Hale And Dorr Wealth Advisors Boston www.haledorrwealth.com $1,514 $1,494 $20 1% 1,163 11-50 251-500
81. Foundation Resource Management Little Rock www.foundationresourcemanagement.com $1,507 $1,051 $456 43% 112 1-5 101-250
82. Brighton Jones Seattle www.brightonjones.com $1,504 $907 $597 66% 366 11-50 251-500
83. RMB Capital Management Chicago www.rmbcap.com $1,495 $950 $545 57% 5,632 11-50 more than 500
84. Pacific Portfolio Consulting Seattle www.pacific-portfolio.com $1,490 $920 $570 62% 278 6-10 251-500
85. Wescott Financial Advisory Group Philadelphia www.wescott.com $1,488 $949 $539 57% 293 11-50 251-500
86. Balasa Dinverno Foltz Itasca Ill. www.bdfllc.com $1,488 $1,008 $480 48% 776 11-50 more than 500
87. Plancorp Saint Louis www.plancorp.com, www.zeroalphagroup.com $1,470 $905 $565 62% 2,553 11-50 251-500
88. Lamco Advisory Services Lake Mary, Fla. www.lamcogroup.com $1,466 $1,070 $396 37% 752 6-10 101-250
89. Sweetwater Investments Redmond, Wash. www.sweetwaterinv.com $1,462 $105 $1,357 1292% 245 1-5 101-250
90. SEA / Lanigan Wealth Management Thomasville, Ga. www.assetadvisor.com $1,461 $781 $680 87% 643 6-10 101-250
91. Welch Hornsby & Welch Montgomery www.welchhornsby.com $1,460 $1,311 $149 11% 322 6-10 251-500
92. Halbert, Hargrove / Russell Long Beach www.halberthargrove.com $1,407 $927 $480 52% 1,666 11-50 more than 500
93. SEIA Los Angeles www.seiallc.com $1,400 $878 $522 59% 4,135 11-50 more than 500
94. Budros, Ruhlin & Roe Columbus www.b-r-r.com $1,370 $870 $500 57% 4,209 11-50 more than 500
95. Rinet Company Boston www.rinetco.com $1,359 $1,129 $230 20% 1,101 11-50 101-250
96. Capital Investment Counsel Denver www.cicinvestments.com $1,356 $816 $540 66% 2,827 11-50 more than 500
97. Family Management Corporation New York www.familymanage.com $1,349 $834 $515 62% 1,495 11-50 251-500
98. Solaris Advisors New York www.solarisgroupllc.com $1,347 $384 $963 251% 27 6-10 11-25
99. Virchow Krause Wealth Management Madison www.virchowkrause.com $1,340 $952 $388 41% 2,245 11-50 more than 500
100. Palisades Hudson Scarsdale, N.Y. www.palisadeshudson.com $1,339 $607 $732 121% 73 11-50 26-100
Source: www.riadatabase.com

Definitions & Methodology

Registered Rep. asked RIA Database, a leading provider of Web-based, searchable data for the financial services industry, to search through Forms ADV that registered investment advisors must file with Security and Exchange Commission. The “Top 100 Advisor Report” ranked registered investment advisors (RIAs) based on total assets under management as defined by the SEC, as of May 31, 2008. Firms were included based on the following criteria:

  1. Greater than 50 percent of their assets must be from the retail marketplace.

  2. They must provide financial planning services, portfolio management for individuals or conduct due diligence on third party advisors.

  3. They must not be doing business as a broker/dealer, bank or insurance company.

  4. The RIAs must not be investing in proprietary products.

Growth of total assets under management was calculated from total assets under management data as defined by the Security and Exchange Commission from December 31, 2006 to May 31, 2008.

TAGS: Archive
Hide comments

Comments

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Publish