Skip navigation

Why are financial advisers using 1950's sales and marketing tactics

or Register to post new content in the forum

21 RepliesJump to last post

Comments

• Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

• No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Apr 9, 2012 1:52 am

I'm not in the business, and have a question that will sound either naive or impertinent or both.  Financial advisers in 2012 appear to be using 1950's era sales tactics e.g. cold calling, while it appears most other industries have moved well past this.  Other professionals such as e.g. CPA's , attorneys, don't appear to do any cold-calling at all.   In the technology industry (where I work in sales), marketing generates leads for sales through thought leadership, white papers, email lead nurturing, etc.  I do some "cold calls" if course, but it is exception and not the norm.  It doesn't appear that new financial advisors have any marketing support at all?   Even in the other aspects of the financial world e.g. institutional sales, and investment banking, cold calls don't appear to be the norm of how new business is generated.  

My issue with cold calling is that it diminishes your status as a professional, and causes the prospect not to take you seriously and ultimately trust you with their money.  Heck, even used car salesmen don't cold call.   Obviously, it does work to some degree, but to mainly or solely rely on this one technique appears to explain the extremely high  failure rate of new financial advisors, versus other sales professionals.  

I would love to get folks perspective on why the retail brokerage / financial advisor industry has elected such a different sales and marketing mix, than other industries?  Maybe I am missing something here?

Apr 9, 2012 6:38 am
FranzFerdinand8: